Fundraising

I’ve done one silly thing this year so far – White Water Rafting. When I signed up to do it I thought it would be an amazing opportunity and it was something I’d wanted to do for ages. My mum bought it for my dad as a birthday present and he decided to do it, as he was scared, on behalf of a charity. He chose to help out victims and sufferers of Rhetts Syndrome. It was a cause he felt strongly about because he recently found out a friend’s wife was a sufferer.

I thought it was a great idea. So, I did the same. My cause was The National Literacy Trust – not a charity for people who suffer physically, but for those who can suffer mentally or occupationally. It’s aim is to help children at a young age to increase their literacy levels in order to help them overcome issues in reading and writing later on in their lives. It’s really worthwhile, especially considering how people are struggling more and more to get jobs in our economic climate and now the competition is so strong.

The day came, back in June, where I had to do the sponsored feat. Turns ut I was far more nervous than I thought I was. In fact, I was so nervous I started to get upset about silly things – needing the loo before we went out, the wet suit not having sleeves, the cagoule not fitting me properly, looking a prat in my helmet – things like that. It meant that I was working myself up. I was very puffy in the face by the time it came to getting in the raft and the instructor ended up taking pity on me and asking me if I was alright all the time. I survived, don’t get me wrong, but I didn’t have many pics taken until towards the end of the course, due to the puffiness.

So, bearing that in mind, I thught I’d be a prat again and do more silly things for charity. It’s not as risky and I probably won’t cry this time, as I’ve done it once before back when I was 19, I think. However, it’s not just me doing it, it’s my fiance Nathan as well. And he’s not done it before. And he doesn;t like ‘rides’. That should be interesting and worth a sponsorship at least.

If you can spare a couple of quid, I’d really appreciate it.
http://www.justgiving.com/widgets/jgwidget.swf

http://www.justgiving.com/kirstylouisechapman

Thank you in anticipation.

Leave a Reply

